[Drama review] “She was pretty” 2015

swp5-00083

“She was pretty” is much less perfect than many of my favorite dramas, but the sweetness is so overloading that I can’t help writing something about it. I so want to write this before the last episode. There might be some surprise in the end, but to me the story can end here with good memories for everyone.   I can only really feel the drama from around ep 4-5. The previous are quite unbearable to see Hye-jin acting stupid every time Sung-joon is around. I know the writer wants to describe her confusion, but it doesn’t need to be at such a stupid level.

But from Ep 4-5, I started to catch up with the beauty of the show. It’s the beauty of two souls being drawn to, attracted to, and bound to each other despite all the denials from their surroundings and their own hearts.      The middle episodes are like a fairy tale in Korean autumn to me, and it is not at all about the transformation everyone talks about. Strangely while the one who transforms is Hye-jin, Sung-joon seems to be the central character for me. With all his sincerity towards Ha-ri, whom he thought was Hye-jin, his internal conflict while being drawn to the real Hye-jin, his loneliness, his search for traces of his first love; his emotions are hiddenly raw and human. I was amazed to find myself moved at every of his breakdowns, sensing so much pressure he has behind.

To me, his search for true love is vaguely sad, maybe it is a mix of lost traces he could not find in Ha-ri and the memories he clings so much to. It is equally as sad as his mother’s accident and the rain combined. I found the shivering in the rain is both hurt and satisfying to watch. It seems like the rain has washed away all their cover and pretense; they come to their most honest selves. Under the rain, they are two naked souls who long for understanding and love. Sung-joon finally could not resist the soul he has long fallen for. That is the beauty of the show to me. It makes me always remember my own search for the right one at some points of life. The mind tells you to follow one direction, but the heart tells the other way.

The latter half of the show is so sweet, putting in the background of fall yellow and red leaves. Last episodes are a bit dragging with main love line already comes into place, but it is such a pleasure to watch love birds singing. There is a warm breeze when they are around each other. I love Hye-jin’s embrace to Sung-joon when he is weary with the entire burden on his shoulders. Isn’t love is about leaning on each other through the storms? Sometimes all we need is a warm and tight hug to let all worries slip away.

Another interesting thing of the show, which goes coincidentally with one of my recent thought, is the leading-supporting role theme. Yes, every show has its few main/leading characters that are under the spotlight. But very often, we need to ask whose show is it. For even the most modest roles will be the main in their own shows.  Don’t ever let anyone overshadow you just because they think they are the stars and you are the minor. Be supporting in someone else’s show, but don’t ever be on your own one.

Lost and found, I know Hye-jin and Sung-joon will value each other though the end. And you too, don’t let opportunity slip away just because you wait too late and let the hair of God of Chance slip through your hands. Grab it, embrace it!

Leave a comment